Welcome to Jimmy G’s blog!

11/11/16

Welcome to Jimmy G’s blog about the massage and bodywork industry!  My name is Jimmy Gialelis, LMT, BCTMB.  I graduated from the Utah College of Massage Therapy in Salt Lake City, UT in August, 2000.  My career has spanned the spa and private practice arenas of the massage and bodywork industry.  Presently, I am a Continuing Education provider in Tempe, Arizona and maintain a successful private practice. The balance of teaching classes and working with clientele allows me to convey new lessons to my students as unique client challenges are encountered.

Sitting in the seat of the teacher allows me to continue to learn and grow as a therapist.  Serving my fellow man and womankind allows me to live within sacred spaces with my clients.  Hallmark tenets of effective bodywork including compassion, awareness, intuition and trust remind me of the beauty of our field.  I feel blessed to share sacred space both in my studio and in my classroom.

The purpose of this blog is to share thoughts and opinions of the massage and bodywork industry.  Lessons may be shared, perspectives compared, viewpoints presented and a voice of reason will be my intention.  Email me at jimmymt77@yahoo.com to share with me anytime.

I am passionate about progressing the massage and bodywork industry to greater credibility in 1) the eyes of the public and 2) the allopathic field.  Greater gains in these two respects will allow massage therapists opportunities to live up to the our title as therapists!

11/12/16

I am proud of the progress made by pioneers of the massage and bodywork industry.  In one generation, we have expanded our industry within both the spa and medical arenas.  Chiropractors and physical therapists accept massage therapists within their practices.  Chair massage is employed within many businesses.   Many hospitals utilize massage related services including energy work such as Reiki.  Patients with chronic conditions were once told massage was not useful for them—however, now they realize massage can alleviate their signs and symptoms.  Now is the best time to be a licensed massage therapist.  We have industry leaders over the past two decades to thank for these advances.  Let’s take a moment to thank an elder of our field for their contributions.

There are yet more doors to open.  Within which industry sector do you foresee massage making significant strides?  Where is the next big phase of growth going to be witnessed?  How does training / education need to shift to accommodate massage therapists in these uncharted waters?  Please reply with your opinion!

Leave a Reply

